Happy Birthday Doug –

One night I was putting my five year old daughter to bed and she looked at me and said, “Hey dad, do you know Doug Engelbart?”  I was very surprised by the question, and said yes I did.  She responded, “Did you know that his thumb comes off?”  I asked her how he did it and she said it was a trick – but that the thumb really came off.  She had met Doug a few times and I didn’t even think that she remembered him.  This conversation lasted about five minutes as she tried to explain how his thumb came off. 

I enjoyed my daughter talking about this world famous guy as a friend.  Just like I grew up – Doug wasn’t anyone famous – but simply that fun loving guy who we loved and who loved us.

 Happy Birthday Doug
– Love Dan, Rachel & Melissa

Leave a Reply

